I don’t watch TV.

The shows that people talk about I am generally unfamiliar with unless I’ve seen them in a hotel room.

That isn’t to say that I’m never sitting in front of a television set. I pick what I watch.

I don’t have cable or dish or all the other names that 1,227 channels are called. I’m watching DVD’s.

I watch old movies, history documentaries  and seasons of  “That Girl”, “The Waltons”, “The Odd Couple”, “Columbo”, “The Andy Griffith Show”, etc.

I don’t have to think about the words they may say, I know there will be a moral to the story and I’m just old school!

Do you remember the show about the maid “Hazel”?

I LOVE,LOVE, LOVE Hazel.

Hazel takes care of the Baxter family and their son little Harold. George and Dorothy Baxter love one another and are respectful to one another. I know, radical concept in today’s sitcoms!!

Hazel taught Harold about George Washington, the pledge of allegiance, they go to church, they pray at dinner, they have manners.  When Harold wanted a dog and Mr. Baxter wasn’t sure about it, Hazel knelt by the sofa and prayed.

Their new dog was named, “Smiley.”

Hazel started a club called, “The Sunshine Girls”. The purpose of the club – when other maids in her neighborhood have a big party to prepare for or if a maid is sick, they lend one another a hand.

Hazel tells whom she loves that they are a “Doozy!”

“You’re a doozy Mr. B!”

“Ain’t he a doozy?!”

I watched an episode last night. She was trying to improve her vocabulary. She informed Mr. Baxter that, ” if you want to make the new word yours you have to use it 10 times in the first day.”

Her dilemma – her first new word was octarchy.  Octarchy  – rule by government of eight.

Hazel who would never steer you wrong, had a good tip! So here is my word today in honor of Hazel – Doozy!

Doozy – something that is extremely unusual or special.`

You’re a doozy!

